Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Administrator, Curriculum Specialist And Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for my small K-6 School as an SIS and gradebook.

Strengths: Has great administrative features for creating courses as well as administraticve reports. The standards based reporting for assignments is a real plus. Also, since it's web-based, it is accessible everywhere.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The ability to administer assessments and autmatically collect the data. 2. The ability to push out assignments to students and allow teachers to annotate and grade over the internet. 3. The ability to customize your school with logos and color schemes.

Verdict: It an inexpensiv tool that benifits small schools who cannot traditionally afford bigger SIS systems. At $4.99 per student.... it's a steal!

Rts, School Type: Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: No collaboration piece

Strengths: 1. Looks easy to use 2. Visually appealing

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Spanish or French version 2. collaboration piece 3. Archival option for district

Verdict: I think they are on the right track, but in order to switch tools we would need a collaboration aspect.

Mandarin Teacher, School Type: Higher Education, High ELL Population, College Prep School
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Just use it like Renweb to submit grades, citizenship, lesson plan,and much more.

Strengths: It is user friendly, but right now I don't see any problem, but we are a Christian school, so citizenship grade is important to the grading scales.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add the citizenship for grading, and that is all I can think of now.

Verdict: The page is really convenient to use. Unlike Renweb which is more expensive and more buttons to click to get to the e- mail I wanted to, or get to comments of the assignments whether or not it is turned in. It seems more user friendly.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to replace our district wide reporting system.

Strengths: This has a very clean and easy to use interface. It's very straight forward and has lots of great areas that would make using it very easy.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would present this to more administrators. There are not a lot of teacher only aspects to this program.

Verdict: This would be a very easy and all encompassing tool to monitor student success, organizing lesson plans and organizing school data.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a holistic solution to my needs for communication, tracking, grading, and planning. A central hub for my classroom management needs!

Strengths: Alma's all-in-one solution provides a much more streamlined solution to teachers' needs. It also appears state-of-the-art, which in the education industry is sadly still something to celebrate. The developers are very open to feedback and seem flexible in designing their product to meet teachers' wants and needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: 10-key! I hope my previous entry (which seemed to be lost in a network error) does not mean that I am repeating myself, but being able to 10-key in grades is crucial to efficiency. Also, being able to 10-key in responses to error messages and dialog boxes will be important. Being able to change grades in the gradebook view will be important when managing students with special needs or accommodations, because we often have to be looking at the student's performance holistically to be able to make those determinations. Having an auto-fill feature would be incredibly useful, for example, a command to change an entry based on an existing one: "for every student with no entry, mark the assignment as not turned in and score at 0 points."

Verdict: Our district has several solutions that do not communicate with each other (or do not communicate well with each other), and some of the solutions are antiquated.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Other, BYOD Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We would use it to maintain gradebooks, keep attendance and hopefully use it for report cards

Strengths: The visual appeal of the interface it nice. They use soft colors so it makes it easy to view on the eyes. They way they have laid out the tabs to go between the different sections/classes makes it easy for any user to do. They offer the the basic system for free, allowing schools such as mine to upgrade to a system that would be much more user friendly

Suggestions for Improvement: The only thing that I can think of (and I believe the rep said they were working on it now) was having better reporting systems for the administrators. It would give it more appeal to make an investment in the system.

Verdict: The interface is incredibly easy to use. In comparison to our current system it is much more user friendly!

Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We are not having bandwith success with our current LMS and nice to know there is another product out there that our school could deploy on a small scale.

Strengths: I like the use of an LMS that provides status, assessment and delivery of content. I like the simplistic feel of the interface. This is especially important for students that especially like the look of feel of tiles and a more graphic interface.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see built in assessments (a library). I would like to see a comparison with current LMSs. I want to make sure it is cross platform.

Verdict: I see the connection in having parents use one source for data management than having to use another. Currently I import scores into another system from our LMS. I would rather have it in one place.

Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: organizes and communicates grades/announcements to students and families

Strengths: This product looks nice and could replace the three separate systems Seattle is currently using. I like that there are preset standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: Faster input class calendar autofill keys (right click menu options) I want to make sure that assignments can be tied to standards and that i can access any standard from common core and NGSS

Verdict: I would want a faster way to input grades. I don't want to use my mouse. 10 and shortcut keys and my arrows. That's it.

Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: to Plan lessons and report grades

Strengths: Grade reporting, lesson planning, attendance all in one place. Eliminates old school notebooks, gradebooks, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: Integrate into or replace Power Teacher with it I like the lesson planner. Make that a key feature that will allow you to share with other staff Integrate skaffl or another rubric creator that can more accurately show results in gradebook

Verdict: this is similar to the Power Teacher software. However it has a few more features.

Educational Technology Coordinator, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To replace our current LMS!

Strengths: It looks great and is really easy to navigate. I'd love to be able to use this with my school.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The ability to give feedback without grades 2. Support for audio/video feedback on individual assignments or evaluations 3. Support for written ("narrative") feedback and evaluations

Verdict: It is beautiful. It makes student information easy to see and the development team seems to be highly responsive.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up