Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create a bank of my test and quizzes

Strengths: The fact that we can save our own questions and/or compare them With the questions from other teachers is a bonus.
It will save me a lot of time.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would recommend the company to introduce the use of a scanner, so I can scan my paper tests and have them ready instead of me having to type question by question.
I would also recommend a way to connect with parents, so they are informed of their kids' test results.

Verdict: I think it will help all teachers in saving time. they could also tap into resources from other teachers that are connected to the network

Mathematics Dept Head, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To create tests with questions vetted by many educators.

Strengths: It solves the problem of having to come up with all of my own questions for tests and relying on publisher test banks (which may not be of high quality!) and having to deal with formatting issues in Microsoft Word.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make sure that the math tools to create mathematical expressions are easy to use and the resulting images are presented clearly. I would also like the ability to import my own images (gif/jpeg) into a test.

Verdict: I wouldn't want to pay for using this product if I'm also contributing questions to the database.

English And Tech Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create study guides, assignments and tests.

Strengths: This product is very innovative. It allows for collaboration of teachers globally and will allow us to better assess Canadian students against students worldwide.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a way to force students to remain on the site during a test. Perhaps the child gets kicked off the test of they navigate to another page or open a new tab. I would like to see some comparison to standardized tests like SATs. And I would like to see comparisons with post secondary level questions.

Verdict: It would allow teachers to get a better understanding of the level of understanding each student has.

Rebecca, French Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to collaborate with other teachers on assessment creation

Strengths: Collaboration
Ease of use
Connected to Google Classroom, drive

Suggestions for Improvement: Hangout/chat feature - ability to chat, interact with the teacher who created the original questions
COST - I feel strongly that the tests/questions should not be for purchase and I wouldn't use this product if I had pay for test questions from another teacher

Verdict: The collaboration feature, as a french teacher, i often feel like my own island, so I love that we could share test questions across the province!

Fsl Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Creating tests, evaluations and assessments and having them stored online. - linking and tracking all the curriculum standards that match each evaluation.

Using it as a markbook.

Strengths: The potential for this product is very interesting, although it still needs to be tuned up.

It does well in:
- teacher collaboration
- storing assessments and evaluations so teachers can easily organize tests and rubrics that have already been made.
- having a PLN that allows teachers to share and look for resources to help with evaluations.

Suggestions for Improvement: - ability to have weighted marks
- ability to divide the markbook so that there can be several different strands being assessed
- loading the student marks directly to the markbook after a student has done an online test or quiz.
- Having a mobile application for iPad, Android or Windows tablets that allows teachers to conduct the assessments straight from their devices. (Eg. using a rubric that was created straight on the device as a student is presenting their final project.)

Verdict: I would recommend this product after it has been cleaned up a little bit and made more user friendly for teachers.
I like the idea that teachers can collaborate and are able to search for assessment and evaluations that have been submitted by other teachers.

Nicole, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: More geared towards secondary students than elementary. It is basically test creation software with multiple choice and short answers. They are still developing online assessment. The potential for back office collection of data and integration would definitely make it more appealing.

Strengths: Question banks from other teachers would be useful. Fee of $100 might not be in everyone's budget. Web-based assessment is in the works. No back office collection of data into individual markbooks.

Suggestions for Improvement: More interactivity so useable by elementary teachers. The drag and drop picture feature will save lots of time to create assessment. I wish it could allow for more dynamic student representation.

Verdict: Definitely geared towards secondary students and I teach primary. For web-based assessment, students need to be able to interact and pull/drag objects at elementary level. I wish it has the ability to allow students to represent and draw answers.

Alison, Digital Literacy Support Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Creating test questions for classroom assessment.
Pool and share assessments with other teachers, to save time and work.

Strengths: Strengths:
- has great potential as a sharing network so teachers are not re-inventing, duplicating work.
- paperless environment to collect and organize assessments.
- can grade student work within the app.

Suggestions for Improvement: Improvements:
- keep it free. Marketplace style is a turn-off for an industry that already has so little additional $ to throw around
- incorporate a chat or hang-out feature so users can communicate instantly, to ask questions about work- clarify, network, create together

Verdict: The company has vision of becoming a marketplace where teachers can buy assessments from eachother, much like TpT. I would suggest that the vendor keep the service free; teachers already naturally share, and would do so willingly. Being asked to buy resources is a turn-off as far as user appeal.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create a bank of my assessments and to mark my assessments and evaluates success

Strengths: Saves time with marking the display of the data to share with parents everything is in one spot, and I love that it can be compared to the results of other students

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be wonderful if our handwritten or Current assessments can be scanned in and converted to assessments that can be done on site

Verdict: This product is easy to use if assessments can be scanned it would be even better. All assessments are in one spot you get instant feedback on the complexity of the questions and you can communicate with other teachers on the matter

Christine, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To create tests
Create bubble sheets and mark them
Evaluate my questions and correlate how well students answered the questions/understood the material.

Strengths: Easy to use
Bubble sheets can be scanned and marked online
Feedback on questions and how well/poorly students did on them which allows me to tailor my future lessons.
Will save me tons of time!!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: Include Ontario curriculum
Have questions split into the 4 categories of learning (knowledge/thinking/communication/application)

Verdict: It would make my job easier
Help me do my job better
Evaluate which areas of curriculum that I've covered
Adjust my assessment methods and teaching styles
Cost-effective
More time in planning and helping students than doing paperwork

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Weekly quizzes and tests, formative and summative.

Strengths: - Saves me time when creating a test, and I also have some reassurance of of questions I use, because other teachers have use it successfully

Suggestions for Improvement: - get Ontario schools on there so the questions are aligned to the Ontario curriculum

Verdict: - Has a bank of good questions for tests that are used by other teachers in the subject.
- paperless evaluation
- creates class data sheet of results

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up