Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Library Media Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would 30Hands to allow students to use technology to create digital stories and enhance their writing and publishing process. This app would allow my students to work collaboratively or independently to create and animate as well as engage them in project-based learning during the reading/writing block or in the library when creating book talks and book reviews. Shy students can have the opportunity to share without fear of standing in front of the class. This is great for students who are camera shy as well. instead of having students writing and presenting papers, they can create digital stories in a fun and engaging, technology-based manner.

Strengths: This product is great in its ability to provide a projectbased, content creation tool that is easy to navigate and maneuver. It solves the problem of always having students up front, reading from a piece of paper. This gives students ownership of their learning and creativity in their final product. It is a lowcost and easily accessible option for storytelling and digital content creation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure that I would change anything about this app. It is very simplistic in format and easy for students to navigate and maneuver through after an initial set of lessons and tutorials.

The one aspect I do not like is the fact that the tutorials are broken up into very choppy segments that do not have titles. You have to click on each number, but slide number two talks about replacing a photo, when you need to know how to start creating a slide first.

Verdict: I would definitely advocate for the use of this tool in classrooms. besides the fact that this app is free, it gives students the freedom to be creative in their writing and content knowledge sharing process. The technology is easy to use and navigate- there are not a lot of menu buttons and type. Tutorials are included in presentation format and the content is easy to share.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 19, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: 30hands allows for student-created stories using photos, images, slides, and audio. There are several beneficial uses for this in my class.

For example, my students design and create video games using the program Scratch. This tool would allow them to storyboard their games better than the hand sketches they currently do.

As well my students create virtual tours of familiar spaces, such as the school building or their homes. This software could work very well for this assignment.

Strengths: The app organizes media well.

The app has an intuitive interface that makes learning and using quite easy.

The app allows for detailed planning of stories.

Suggestions for Improvement: If not already done, update for iOS 7. iOS 6 interface already looks quite dated.

Allow projects to be shared across multiple devices via Airdrop.

Allow teacher monitoring of all student's projects

Verdict: Most students, over 80%, have smart phones that are compatible with this software.

Students love the opportunity to use their phones and would welcome this application.

Many professions require the use of mobile app's whether it is at point of sales, record keeping, etc. This is a form of career readiness.

Esol Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to help my students write summaries of stories that incorporate visuals. I would also have them write their own stories and upload their drawings/pictures from the internet to "illustrate" their work.

Strengths: It looks like it is very user friendly.

In addition, it will allow students to interact with stories they are reading or creating.

It is free!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if this product was available on android devices so that more students could use their own personal devices.

I couldn't tell if 30 hands offers easy to use templates, but that would make it simpler for students.

I haven't used the product, so I'm not sure what else could be improved.

Verdict: What is great about this product is that it is free. All the school would have to worry about is having enough devices for students to use.

Team Leader, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would have students take pictures of items that they feel represents what they think about money. Then have them use the pictures to explain what they have learned in Financial Literacy math class to the pictures they took. A great way for students to express their knowledge of math concepts creativiely.

Strengths: Easy for students to learn to use

Fast for turn around time to use

Students can access from home

Suggestions for Improvement: No simple way to create accounts for all of your students

Verdict: Reasons for:

It is FREE!

Easy for students to use

Fast and easy way for students to be creative and share knowledge

Can use it on any device

students can document their work to show baseline of learning and growth of learning leading to mastery of curriculum content.

Lois, Title I Resource Math Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Engaging kids in technology usage and self paced learning with the enhancement of video and interactive activities and socialization, brainstorming, and collaboration. Projects that allow kids to interact without being in the same location like when they are doing homework takes the learning outside of the classroom

Strengths: I like the way the hyperlinks are going to be automatically updated to reduce down time in the student's experience

Suggestions for Improvement: I have never used this site, so it is hard for me to identify any problems that I would like to see changed.

Verdict: The clean looks of the website and the way the URL's are handled on the site would help reduce lost time in the classroom as kids were trying to upload and visit web-based sites.

Ryan, Department Chair & Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to allow my students to create presentations using pictures, drawings, and audio in order to demonstrate mastery of objectives in Spanish.

Strengths: It allows users to use pictures taken or already present on their electronic device. Cloud storage is an excellent option to give students an easier way to save their work and, more importantly, access it from home. It seems much easier to have students use their phones than the largely unreliable netbooks at school.

Suggestions for Improvement: I honestly cannot think of any at this time. I am really looking forward to giving it a try.

Verdict: It is free, seems very easy to use, and allows for a large amount of creativity on the part of the student in order to express him or herself.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would incorporate it in my classroom daily by allowinf my scholars to use it during their center time to enhance greater achievement on different skills.

Strengths: enhances greater achievement

improves skills due to lack of retainment

experience in using technology

Suggestions for Improvement: the costno money

more than 1 devicei have 24 students

user friendlynot tech savy

Verdict: the reasons i would strongly reccommend this device is because we need to use more technology in the classroom and our school is very limited right now in the area of technology.

Michael, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be used to create and present lessons. It can be used to teacher prerecorded lessons.

Strengths: This allows teachers and students to record ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price is a little bit more than i am willing to pay. It is only available for Apple products. Not able to customize the home page in the free trial accounts.

Verdict: It allows teachers to engage a group of students while others are reviewing a prerecorded lesson.

Engineering Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Post my assignments and have the stud eats do their work online

Strengths: It keeps a log of all assignments and makes it much easier for students and teachers

Suggestions for Improvement: Should keep a running overall grade so kids can know how they are doing in the class

Verdict: This makes it so much easier for students and teachers. One place where students can get all of the course content

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Digital classroom environment.

Strengths: Ability and multifunction capabilities. Expansion capabilities. User friendly.

Suggestions for Improvement: Set up may be timely. Not available for android.

Verdict: The ability to this application to other digital tools makes it unique.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up