Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Ed Tech, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will use this to help teachers find apps to complement what they are doing in the classroom. It's great to have iPads, but you need good data to find good apps. Too much junk out there.

Strengths: Breakdown into specifics of subjects and CC standards included! Nice visual interface. Simple and straightforward.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have more apps curated. Demo said 500+ apps but I know there are many more apps out there.

Verdict: I like that teachers are the reviewers, and they are reviewing for educational purposes. Not just anyone playing a game. It helps you glean through everything and choose something appropriate and usable. You can choose by grade level (or levels for differentiation) and subject and further refine from the subject. K science is animals, and I can find an appropriate app for them. I can do this for teachers, or easily show them how to do it for themselves! Hurray for easy user interface!

Special Ed Assistant, School Type: High School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for a class grouping of level 4 LD students s who are inclusion students. These students have high functional autism, ADHD, ADD and students with executive functioning problems, Decoding reading for some is not a problem but comprehension and referring skills are a problem. This would be a great resource as we have multiple level readers and learners,

Strengths: It does all the research for you and narrows your search for getting information

Suggestions for Improvement: No changes I can think of.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because all day we are working with our students in learning lab and in their class room and researching any information is entirely on our own time. By the end of the day our brains are tired. This would be a great help.

Rts, School Type: Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This is a great search feature that will cut down on time.

Strengths: 1. Easy to use 2. 1 resource for materials 3. webbased 4. standards search 5. subject search 6. material search

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Not all subjects have extensive materials 2. collaboration, review option

Verdict: This product provides 1 place to search for standards, topics, themes, subjects, type of activity or material needed.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: For now, it's only geared to science and technology.

Strengths: Visually would be appealing to students. Allows students to work on standards and play games while practicing the skills for that standard.

Suggestions for Improvement: Lock down area so students can't get out of Apps. Broaden topics and apps to meet other subject areas. Would be nice if it had the possiblity to organize apps into folders.

Verdict: I think it has a ways to go before it's totally worth using in a classroom at the high school level.

Resource Room Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This site makes it easy for teachers to find an app exactly for what they need rather dealing with all of the junk that comes up.

Strengths: I like the click function for subjects and levels I like the instant transition to the app store for downloading

Suggestions for Improvement: Fix the network connect problem for godaddy apps Create a common core standards search Create a classroom/school/behavior management app search

Verdict: easy to use, eliminates guess work, all education no fluff

5th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My school has iPad for every classroom. My students will download this app and use it to tailor their interests in subject by grade level.

Strengths: It gives students options for their learning. It,also does it quickly and efficiently.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add it to desktop for as well, not just smart phone or tablet. The more versatility the better.

Verdict: I would recommended it foe my school because we are constantly looking for apps that can support student learning.

Shawn, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To help developing stronger readers in my grade level.

Strengths: this will give my students an opportunity to become stronger readers and for them to learn new words by hearing them.

Suggestions for Improvement: this introduction does not give me enough opportunity to review the form properly does this no changes that I can see you at this moment.

Verdict: Help my students become stronger readers and help them become better writers

Tech Ed Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would give it to our math group, I think it would be really helpful to this group. It also has digital area's for other subjects but her computer's were down so I couldn't see them.

Strengths: I don't know right now since I couldn't look at the program because it wasn't working on her computer.

Suggestions for Improvement: None right now since I didn't get to try or look at the program, just what she told me about it. I would like to add an area for life skills if that's not part of their program.

Verdict: I think it would be worth checking out, I use to teacher Century 21 at one of my old schools, I'm not sure if this is the same because her computer was down and I couldn't look at the program. But if it close to the old program which I hope has been improved I think it will work great.

Librarian, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I'd recommend this to other teachers. I Plan to put it on my library website so students and teachers can use the "yelp" of apps and other OER

Strengths: Can search by topic/ subject area. Includes more than apps. Someone else has done the searching for me!

Suggestions for Improvement: Be sure it has items specific to most often taught subjects in HS. Biology is a required end of course exam students must meet standard to graduate. American literature is often taught, etc. Perhaps a shared evaluation tool so teachers can see how others used the OER item? Maybe link to lesson plans? Might feature more prominently those that are best, lest 21Teach become as overwhelming as everything else?

Verdict: This is a way to manage the tidal flood of info.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would you this program to further support students reading skills and to provide students with skills in reading from various media applications

Strengths: This product carries a wide variety of ebooks that are available to students in a variety of settings.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to carry ebooks that are in sets or series at K-5 level. It would be great if this product provided training for teachers. It would also be great if class roster set up were an easier process for teachers to set up in their classrooms.

Verdict: I would recommend this program to my administration because it offers a wide variety of resources to engage students in learning the necessary skills to be deeper thinkers and learners.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up