Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Louise, Substitute Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in 4th grade classes to teach circuitry. I am a substitute teacher who occasionally has long term assignments and bringing novelty and hands on experiences into the classroom really helps me connect quickly with the students. I would use it for my early finishers and for my students who may struggle with pen and paper or oral assignments, where building things is their passion.

Strengths: Kids love to play and see how things work. They can play with this product and make adjustments and link it to other projects. I see no downside to this product.

Suggestions for Improvement: More background info for the teacher about circuitry in elementary grades - k-2.
Make and take projects to bring back to pds.
Show how the coding works for different outcomes.

Verdict: Electronics and any engineering experiences is crucial to my students' future. We have to have it available to them early in their academic career. Like language, early exposure to science while their brains are developing, will give them a foundation to jump from as they learn more complicated concepts in upper grades.

Tech Lead Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to teach student about area. But this is just scratching the surface. The 3D design can help my students understand the concept of volume. Students can also learn about diffent designs around them but manipulating the different shapes. This can potentially be a great tool to use to differentiate learning within your classroom.

Strengths: Students can manipulate shapes. Use different models to create a design. The product is visually appealing and it contains easy to use shortcuts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have students be able to collaborate with each other when building a design.
Be able to send feedback to students while they are working on their designs.
Students should be able to create a design by following instructions, maybe as a beginners phase, in order to understand how to use the product.

Verdict: Overall, this site can be the first step to ignite student's imagination. This is a great tool to get students thinking about design and fuction. You can introduce engineering, robotics and coding. A triple threat! The website looks intuative and the shapes are easy to manipulate.

Yvette, Teacher. School Type: High School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a Technology Teacher (Business Ed certification) with little technical experience, I would use this both as a professional development tool for myself and colleagues and as a learning platform for students. Many of our Business teachers are stuck teaching tech courses for which they are untrained and uncomfortable teaching. This could remove a lot of the apprehension many teachers have.

I would also use the kickstarter kits to really give students a hands-on experience. At a cost of $80-$195, they would be within reach for most schools.

Strengths: It eliminates the need for expensive technology labs and equipment. Using this tool is also much safer.

Suggestions for Improvement: Can't think of anthing right now.

Verdict: It gives students the same experience they would receive in a technology lab without the cost for expensive equipment and materials. The Kickstarter kits are reusable and the pages are also downloadable. You don't necessity need a large tech or computer lab.

Allison, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the web based component of the platform to introduce circuits to my 4th graders.

Strengths: I would love to use the program to introduce the students to circuits and how they work. Student can then take the knowledge to create even more complex circuits.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not see the web platform being as valuable as a stand alone program without the circuit kits. The circuit kits can be very expensive. I will investigate the product to see if I could afford to do this inexpensively as well as provide equitable access to all of my students.

Verdict: This platform would be a stepping stone for my students that could lead them into a deeper understanding of how circuits work and designing more complicated circuits.

Julie, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Apr 26, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I'm looking to start an elective next year titled Team Building Through Common Core. I think this would be an amazing opportunity to implement this product.

Strengths: i love that it's interactive and engaging. Students learn how things work and will have an end product. They can work as individuals or collaboratively.

Suggestions for Improvement: I hope I can facilitate this as easily as it seems. At this point I have no major concern.

Verdict: First of all, it's free. Second, I even want to tryout some of the tasks. It teaches students and adults some basics regarding how electronic items function. From wiring to electric chips. It's cost effective because a lot of it is virtual.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in our physics curriculum to middle school students and after school for problem-based learning projects.

Strengths: This product really connects the math and science. Our students do amazingly well with concrete projects, not so much writing. This makes students think critically and apply content.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be cool if you could send the circuit design to the Arduino via USB. I'd like it if there was a purchasing program that was geared toward low-income schools.

Verdict: I would recommend because the product connects to real content in an intuitive and concrete way. Students have problems making connections and retaining infi. This would make that connection.

Tech Lead Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Introduce students to circuits and coding.

Strengths: Visually impressive product. Let's students use a pen to create circuits. Great for cooperative learning groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. There needs to be a visual how to, in order for students to follow directions.
2. Teacher should be able to give feedback to student while they are working on their design.
3. YOu cannot start this product unless you know something about how circuits work.
4. Teachers need to be familiar with this product before hand before they share with students.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it lets students use hands on material as well as online interactive visuals to manipulate circuits.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Teaching about electricity, I can have students actually build their own products.

Strengths: -hands on experience and gives students opportunities to Create their own products -students Have the opportunity to collaborate amongst each other

Suggestions for Improvement: -online tutorial program where both teachers and students can learn easily.

-have a "share" function where students can showcase their work w/ each other.

-add a video function to the program

Verdict: I would use this product but there seems to be a high learning curve even for teachers. I think students will really enjoy it though.

Lisa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 26, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my Design-Based Learning Challenges.

Strengths: This product is a great tool for project-based learning and Design-based Learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Will this product remain free for teachers? Will students be able to save their work? Will teachers be able to save projects?

Verdict: This product is a great tool for Common Core Standards, using in random with performance tasks, and modeling and practicing 21st Century Skills.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 26, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Small group lessons

Strengths: Access to circuits

Suggestions for Improvement: need to connect with hand on
bring full circle with virtual world and real world
incorporate for younger audience as well.

Verdict: Great way to excite kids with circuits

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up