Co-learning Highlights Connected Courses Webinars

Nov 10 to Nov 19, 2014

Free


Co-learning, or cooperative learning among students and between teachers and students, is the topic of the next three “Connected Courses” webinars, taking place Nov. 10, 17 and 19.

Connected Courses is a free online class being taught by open-learning pioneers who developed the curriculum for fellow college and university professors to learn to teach their own open courses. It launched in September and runs through Dec. 14.

When/Where/Who:

  • Monday, Nov. 10, 7 p.m. PDT/9 p.m. CDT/10 p.m. EDT, at http://youtu.be/aj94fbr79dg. Panelists — Alec Couros, professor of educational technology and media at the Faculty of Education, University of Regina; Howard Rheingold, digital media expert and educator; andMia Zamora, associate professor of English at Kean University — will discuss developing community in a MOOC (massive open online course).
  • Monday, Nov. 17, 5 p.m. PDT/7 p.m. CDT/ 8 p.m. EDT at http://youtu.be/DdYPH6QkRmU. Discussion will center on how to foster and support peer learning while negotiating authority in a connected learning environment. Panelists: Lee Skallerup Bessette, faculty instructional consultant at the University of Kentucky; Couros; Joseph Corneli, researcher in computational creativity at the University of London’s Goldsmiths Colege; Charlotte Pierce, co-president of Independent Publishers of New England; Rheingold; and Zamora.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 19, 5 p.m. PDT/7 p.m. CDT/ 8 p.m. EDT at http://youtu.be/RSCvAe65zDU. Successful co-learning models and approaches to connected learning will be discussed. Panelists: Couros; special guest Cathy N. Davidson, a distinguished scholar of the history of technology and director of the Futures Initiative at City University of New York, co-founder ofHASTAC and National Humanities Council member; David Preston, a teacher who developed the Open Source Learning principles, tools and techniques that are being used in a growing number of K-12 schools and colleges; Rheingold and Zamora.

Viewers are encouraged to post questions and comments during the live webinars via Twitter using the hashtag, #CCourses.

Couros, Rheingold and Zamora are teaching Unit 5 — “About Co-learning” — of the six-unit Connected Courses class.

Why:

“In this day and age — with the dynamism of open online technologies — learning can be driven by self-interest, research can be conducted with powerful global collaboration and crowdsourcing, and teachers and students can discover alongside each other as they break down old hierarchies that have limited the production of new knowledge,” Zamora said. “This is the heart of the connected learning experience.”

Added Rheingold: “Open connected learning is not just about MOOCs. It’s about students and teachers as co-learners on the open web.”

More Information:

Connected Courses is a free online course. It is supported by the University of CaliforniaHumanities Research Institute, Digital Media and Learning Research Hub and MacArthur Foundation. For lessons, instructor bios and more details, visit connectedcourses.net. 

Media Contact:

Mimi Ko Cruz, mcruz@hri.uci.edu, 949-824-4587